Sale-A-Bration Blog Hop

25Jan10

Sale-A-Bration is here!

To help you feel the excitement (if you’re not already doing a happy dance) the ESAD group are having another blog hop and here it is!

ESAD is a yahoo group for Australian Stampin’ Up! demonstrators and we wanted to show you how versatile the Sale-A-Bration stamp sets can be.  The best way to do this is to have a blog hop.

If you’re new to blog hopping then here is how our ESAD Sale-A-Bration Blog Hop will work:

Leave a comment on this blog post then follow the link at the bottom of my post to get to the next blog.  On each blog you visit leave a comment and then follow the link provided to move on to the next.  If you keep following those links you’ll end up right back here with me.

Each blog you go to will feature a project that uses one of the stamp sets that you can receive free during Sale-A-Bration.  If you comment on each blog in the “hop” you will go into the draw to win some awesome blog candy.  There will be something donated from each of the 43 blog owners to go towards the blog candy so it will be BIG.  You won’t want to miss it.

It couldn’t be any easier.  So let’s get started!

There are 4 free stamp sets that you can choose from during the Sale-A-Bration period and for this post I have chosen to use Happy Moments.  To find out more about receiving free stamp sets during Sale-A-Bration click here.

This was my first attempt (sorry about the bad photo quality) and I do like it but I was trying to make it look a bit more like this one.  It is very hard to make a really stunning simple card and I admire those that can do it.  So I went back to the drawing board (or should I say stamp pads) and came up with this one.

I really love this colour combination and my favourite part is the little pink bird.  The cage and bird are all one stamp so to make the bird pink and the cage grey I had to use my blender pen as an eraser.  I first inked the stamp with Basic Grey ink and then, before I stamped it, I used the blender pen to remove the grey in from the bird.  Once the bird was clean and the cage still had grey ink on it I coloured the bird using my regal rose marker and then stamped it onto the whisper white cardstock.

As this was a little fiddly I also thought I better make one to show you that was super easy.  I started with the Regal Rose card but soon had to make more in various colours as it just looked so cute.

It’s just a few pieces of Designer Series Paper, Cardstock and Ribbon all the same colour with the image and sentiment stamped with chocolate chip ink.  The colour co-ordination is one of my favourite things about Stampin’ Up! as it takes all the guess work out of matching colours of ribbon, paper and card as they are exactly the same colour.

Regal Rose, Whisper White  and Chocolate Chip.

Baja Breeze, Whisper White and Chocolate Chip

Chocolate Chip and Whisper White.

This card is a little different than the other three.  The ribbon I used is a different colour to the Designer Paper.  Because I didn’t have any ribbon to match the Apricot Appeal Designer Paper I tried out my So Saffron Grosgrain Ribbon and it matched very well.  This ribbon is no longer available as it was from a special promotion last year but the gorgeous Apricot Appeal designer paper is still available and you can only get it as a hostess gift.

If you’re interested in receiving this Designer Paper as a gift for hosting a workshop, please contact me at amy.waters@bigpond.com.  You could combine your workshop with your Sale-A-Bration order and receive even more free Sale-A-Bration stamp sets as well as the generous Hostess Benefits Stampin’ Up! has to offer.

Well, if you’ve made it this far and gotten through my ramblings then you’re sure to want to go to the next blog.  So here it is:

Creating Cards With Andrea

And don’t forget to leave me a comment and all the other blogs along the way.  I must warn you that there are 43 blogs in the ESAD Summer Mini Blog Hop so be prepared for a sensory overlaod as you will see many different ideas and projects that will take your breath away.

Have fun and I’ll see you back here soon!

The blog hop will start at 6am EST on 25th January 2010 so if you start before this then you won’t be able to find the links you’ll need.



68 Responses to “Sale-A-Bration Blog Hop”

  1. love your colour combos and design!

  2. 2 Rebecca Ware

    This is a great set – you have presented the cards beautifully. I really liked the chocolate chip and white ink.

    Thanks,
    Rebecca

  3. They are beautiful Amy – I love the one with the pink bird!!

  4. Great cards. I especially love the little pink birdie.

  5. 5 Lisa H

    Love your wonderful cards using DSP & matching Ribbon, so simple & effective.

    Lisa H

  6. Great set of cards, shows how using a simple but elegant design and then different colour combos can quickly boost your card supplies when needed!

  7. They are all fabulous! SO cute 🙂

  8. Ohh love the white ink on the choc chip, these are really nice, thanks for sharing. Inky hugs from Charmaine 🙂

  9. Amy your cards are just gorgeous … Thanks for participating in the ESAD blog hop!

  10. 10 Sarah

    Such cute designs! Beautiful!

  11. 11 Adele Francis

    Awesome as always Amy! Your cards are ALWAYS stunning!!!! Can’t wait to see more…xxx

  12. gorgeous cards Amy! I will be casing these for sure! thanks also for sharing the tip about using the blender pen when using our markers on stamps…I never thought to do that, but I know that it will make life soooo much easier from now on! thanks for sharing. xx

  13. 13 Keegan Rigby

    Love love love the set of 4 matching cards!!!

  14. Beautiful cards and some great colour combos, thanks for sharing.

  15. Oh Amy, how gorgeous! Love your work, as ever!

  16. Lovely cards Amy. I have never thought to use the blender pen as an eraser, so thanks for the great tip too 🙂

  17. Lovely cards Amy! TFS!

    Jenny

  18. It’s amazing Amy how one certain idea in diffferent colours can create such a different mood. I love these. They are beautiful and of course done with your magical style and gace. Well done. ooxx

  19. lovely sets Amy. Your bows are really neat!

  20. LOVE LOVE LOVE your cards Amy 🙂 Love the colours & the bows, just all GORGEOUS
    Tanya xox

  21. 21 Samantha I

    Amy, of course your cards a fabulous!!!
    I don’t know whether to thank you or not for sending me on that 42 blog blog hop!!!!! But the cards and project are all so amazing! Phew! See ya 🙂

  22. 22 Donna Zammit

    Love the monochromatic colour scheme, simple yet very effective! Thanks for sharing. Donna Zammit

  23. 23 Tania Salvati

    Love the colours used on these cute cards.

  24. Wow that are lovely!! Now how do you get the perfect little bows!!??? Whats the secret?? lol

    TFS Caroline

  25. Lovely cards, thanks for sharing!

  26. 26 Kim

    Fantastic work. Love all that you have done.

  27. 27 Billie

    simply wonderful!!!! so cute, love the different colours.

  28. Oh these are just divine! TFS

  29. aah, so beautiful…love them!

  30. 30 Nanette

    Love how a different colour can change the look of the card. Well done!

  31. Love the different colours and your design.

  32. Lovely cards, Amy. Nice design and use of DSP. TFS

  33. Hi Amy, love your cards great work TFS
    Cheers kym byrne

  34. Your cards are gorgeous. I really like the brown card with white bird. Thanks for sharing

  35. What a great set of cards. TFS

  36. 36 Monica

    I love your wonderful cards using the matching Ribbon. It is so simple, yet very effective.

  37. I love the birdcage in Whisper White! I’m adding you to the blogs I follow too. 🙂

  38. Your card set is simply stunning Amy!!

  39. As usual you have done a beautiful job with your cards Amy. I just love topping by and seeing your work. Linda

  40. 40 Teri

    Very pretty! Love the pink bird.

  41. My fav is the card with the pink bird! Great idea to colour it with your blender pens!

  42. I love all the different colors! Beautiful cards

  43. ABSOLUTELY LOVE THESE!!!
    They are perfect!

    TFS~
    Wendy Hawkinson

  44. These are absolutely BEAUTIFUL!

  45. What a fantastic idea to colour the bird a different colour … love that idea.

  46. Great projects. Thanks for the
    inspiration.

  47. What a gorgeous group of colours you have used! Fantastic effort…thanks for sharing 🙂

  48. 48 Sylvia

    Hi Amy, Your cards are Lovely, and the colour combinations are amongst my favourites. A great card design for duplicating many others. Well done.

  49. love the ideas great.

  50. 50 Del Sherry

    These are just beautiful..
    Del Sherry

  51. Simply beautiful, Amy! Love what you’ve done with this super-cute set!

  52. 52 Jac

    Wow – Simply elegant – thinking I can do these myself.

  53. 53 Alisha Watson

    i love how you show us the card is all different colours Amy, What an impact it makes. A Different colour for every occasion….Love It !!!

  54. 54 Larissa

    Still jealous of those perfect bows – great job Amy! Love it!!

  55. 55 Rachael Hewitt

    What gorgeous cards! I love the colours you have used, and love your perfectly tied bows- they look beautiful!

  56. I love these cards! Gorgeous!

  57. 57 Nancie Clarke

    I didn’t think I liked this little bird cage…but now I have seen it in action…must put it “on the list” tfs

  58. 58 Annette

    Beautiful 🙂

  59. 59 Christina

    Love these creations Amy – just wonderful!

  60. 60 sam fillingham

    love the first card – great colour combo

  61. 61 Lee Thomas

    Amy, great use of colours. I really like the cream/yellow card.

  62. 62 Joanne Ritchie

    They are all just too cute! 😉

  63. 63 Jodie Jenkinson

    WONDERFUL!!!! Says it all 🙂

  64. Love them all Amy!

  65. 65 Dianne Lovelock

    I love the colours and how these cards look so easy to do 🙂 Thanks for your ideas!

  66. These are my all time favourite. i love them!

  67. My guess is that you really love that little bird stamp. So do I. TFS. These are great.

  68. 68 Fiona Brown

    Beautiful cards. Love the way you have used the matching ribbon and paper.