Birthday Parties Galore

08Sep11

With two birthdays in September within a week of each other, it gets a little busy.  This year my 10 yr old had his birthday coincide with Father’s Day which made it even busier.  We organised a party with a few friends after school during the week and then a family gathering on Sunday which was also a Father’s Day celebration.  And now this week was my 8 yr old daughter’s turn.  Today she had a party after school with a few friends and Saturday will be a big family celebration.  Tomorrow will be the last time I need to make a birthday cake for quite a while and I never thought I would say it, but I am sick of seeing cake!

I did enjoy making some pretty roses to go on my daughters cake today and made lots more to go on the big cake on Saturday.  As this was my first attempt I think I did ok.  I know that the icing was too thick and that caused the edges of the petrels to be so ‘jaggered’.  But if I made the icing any softer it just kept melting.  Any ideas?

And this cute bunting I made to go with it was perfect.  It uses the new colours from Stampin’ Up!  Wisteria Wonder and Pool Party, plus Blushing Bride and Very Vanilla.  The letters were cut using the big shot and letter dies.  Too easy!

