Being a Mum

28Feb11

This isn’t a post about crafty stuff but just about me 🙂

I know that I said I would get this blog up and running again, and that is still my hope, but right now I have a few things taking up my time that were unexpected (no, I am not having a baby) and need to be sorted out before I get back into a routine with my crafting.

Due to medical reasons, I am not able to drive for six months (and yes, it is medical.  I am a very good driver :)).  This means that I now walk my children to school everyday and walk them home too.  So instead of taking 15mins in the morning and 15mins in the afternoon it is taking me at least an hour in the morning and again in the afternoon.  That is an extra 1 1/2 hours that has been taken from my crafting schedule.  I’ve been lucky so far in the first week as it hasn’t rained or been overly hot.  I’m hoping it stays that way for the next 5 3/4 months.  Is that too much to ask?

I don’t mind the walk though and I am really enjoying spending the time talking to my children as we walk along.  My daughter even looked up at me on one of our walks home and said, “I like walking home mum.  We get to talk”.  It has really made me take time out from what I “want” to do and realise what I “need” to do.

I need to be with my family and be a mum to them.  Not just someone that does all those household chores of cleaning, preparing food and folding laundry.  I need to be part of their lives.  I need to be the first one they turn to when they have a problem or have something awesome they need to tell me.  So that is what I will be doing.  Being a mum!

So if you can hang in there and be patient with me as my blog posts won’t be as often as I would have liked.  But when you come to check and see that I haven’t added anything new, you’ll know that I am still creating something wonderful, a loving relationship with my family.

Amy

5 Responses to “Being a Mum”

  1. Take care Amy… best wishes for a wonderful 6 months of lovely conversation with yr children going back and forth to school!

    • 2 becreativewithamy

      Thanks Jenny 🙂 It’s going to be great.

  2. We walk to school most mornings and the kids often complain about having to walk, but they share conversation with each other and with me much more than they ever do at home or in the car (and they can’t fight over the front seat either!). I’m not sure if it’s the exercise or the extra time to think about getting to school, but it is so much easier to get them settled straight into their classrooms when we walk too.

    To Being A Mum!

  3. oh lovely Amy – sending big hugs!!!!!I Isn’t it funny how some things we would think of as big trials to begin with can sometimes turn out to be big big blessings. Not that no driving for 6 months can’t SUCK but its so wonderful to hear you’re enjoying the time with your kids. They will be loving it! Keep looking for that silver lining lovely and know we will ALL be here waiting to see what delights you have to show us, whenever you have the time to show us! hugs hugs hugs, xxx xxx xxx

  4. 5 becreativewithamy

    Things have changed a little since this original post 😦 Some good, some bad. But I am still trying to do my best to be a “mum”.

    It’s great to know that there are others out there that share my thoughts and can help me feel good about what I am doing.

    Thank you 🙂



