Technique Challenge – Emboss and Sponge

21Aug10

Over at Helping Hudson, they have been running challenges and offering great tutorial packages (at a small cost) to help raise money for a special chair for little Hudson.  I have been meaning to play along with a challenge all month and now that there is only 2 hours left to join in, I have finished a couple of cards for some challenges.

This first card is for Challenge 8 – A Technique .  The task set is to make a card that uses embossing of any kind and sponging.

I’ve had this gorgeous stamp set sitting on my shelf since May and I haven’t had a chance to use it yet.  That is so sad 😦 But not anymore because look what I made with it:

I started by stamping the Sweet Pea image in Close to Cocoa on Whisper White.  I then stamped it again with VersaMark, sprinkled it with clear embossing powder and heat set it.  The heat embossing was slightly to the side of the close to cocoa so that when I did the next step, sponging, it would leave a white line next to the cocoa line to add more depth and interest to the image.  See what I mean?  Instant highlights!

I coloured the flowers with Regal Rose using a sponge dauber.  It took a little bit off patience but I love the effect.  Leaving it hazy around the edges gave it dimension that colouring with a marker wouldn’t have done.  I used a blender pen to colour in some of the smaller sections with Melon Mambo.  Once again more highlights.  The leaves are Mellow Moss and I used Bordering Blue with my blender pen to add a ‘shadow’ around the entire image.

Then I used another stamp set that hasn’t been out in a while to add a strip of polka dots and finished with more sponging around the edges and also over the polka dots.  A bow tied out of Mellow Moss ribbon was the final step.

What do you think?  There were a few steps involved in making this card but I think it was so worth it.  I love it!

I’m also using this card for Challenge 7 – A Sketch.

7 Responses to “Technique Challenge – Emboss and Sponge”

  1. 1 Genna

    Wow – how clever and patient you are!!!! What a stunning card. And well done on combining the two challenges, very impressive. Love it!

  2. Wow that looks amazing. Thanks for taking part in our challenge.

  3. Absolutely beautiful – the detail is amazing!!

  4. I literally gasped when I saw this! This is so STUNNING! I love it! I love the image and your colouring is just breathtaking!

  5. Ditto to all above comments Amy!!! Can we do this at our team meeting this week??? wink wink! So excited – can’t wait! xxx

  6. 6 becreativewithamy

    Thank you for your beautiful comments everyone 🙂 And, I WON! YAY!!!!

  7. This is stunning Amy.



