Bird Box

12Mar10

As soon as I saw the original bird box by Nicole Heady I knew that I would have to make it.  It’s taken me nearly 10 months to get to it but I’m so glad that I did and here is my first “experiment”.

Isn’t it just the cutest little bird box / house you have ever seen.  I did say “experiment” though because I always like to just make one that is pretty much to the pattern before I go and make changes and add extra bits.  I did change it a little though as I put a string bow on each side that ties the roof on instead of sticking it down.

This way when you untie the bows the roof comes off and you can get to the little goodies inside without destroying the bird house.  I’m not sure what the original design does for this.  I just thought that this would look cute.

I can’t wait to make more.  I’ll be handing these out for easter gifts filled with chocolate easter eggs.  I’ll take photos and post them here.  I’ve already made 4 today as each of my children wanted their own.

They each chose the colours and then I made them.  Theirs have the roof attached and their “birds” just go in the hole at the front.  A very ‘cheep’ toy for any child!

The pattern is available to download free from Nicole’s site.

11 Responses to “Bird Box”

  1. These are just fantastic, as soon as my little ones go to bed tonight I will be making one! Thanks so much for sharing

  2. These are so cute. I like your idea with the string, for ease of access. You can also have it that you stick one side down and have the tie only on one side, instead of tying both sides down. I agree that these would make a great easter gift. I have also seen these house used at Christmas time and they are decorated to look like Gingerbread houses.

    • 3 becreativewithamy

      what great ideas Mona. I’m even thinking they’d make good Mother’s day gifts. A very multi-purpose box indeed.

  3. 4 Aliessa

    so, so, so, so, cute!!! If it’s ok with you I think I will make some for the kids teachers for Easter!! yay! Thanks Amy!

  4. Oh Amy, these are too cute! Love them!

  5. Amy these are so beautiful and a wonderful change fm the usual basket. I sincerely hope the kids enjoy them as much as you had making them!!

  6. They look great you should take them along to Chipmunks with you tomorrow. Well done

  7. Super cute! TFS!!

  8. 9 Donna Zammit

    These are adorable….thanks for sharing. I will have to whip some of these up as well. Cheers Donna Zammit

  9. 10 becreativewithamy

    I’m glad that this has inspired you all to make some of these cute boxes. Good luck and don’t forget to send me some pics of your finished creations. I’d love to see what you come up with.


  1. 1 Inkspiration Colour Challenge #19 « Monica's Blog

