Card Organiser

18Dec09

My present for my mum and mother-in-law this year is handmade and something they will both appreciate.  My mum likes to make cards and give them and my mother-in-law is always giving cards too so I thought a card organiser would be just right for both of them.

This style of organiser I saw on another blog but I just can’t remember where.  (If it’s your design let me know so I can give you the credit you deserve) It is basically a small file system that is not only functional but looks very pretty too.

For my mum I used a piece of Bella Bleu Designer Series Paper (Kraft coloured) with Baja Breeze cardstock and embellishments.

For my mother-in-law I used the same colours of Baja Breeze and Kraft but reversed them so that the Baja Breeze was the dominant colour.  I have used a non Stampin Up! paper here.  I just had to use it because it is just so cute.  Just look at that little owl on the back!

To join the ribbon I punched a hole with my crop-o-dile and then set a Jumbo Eyelet also using my crop-o-dile.  I love that tool!  (and the Jumbo Eyelets from the spring mini catalogue are still available to purchase along with a few other items).  I threaded the ribbon through and tied it off in a knot.

The ribbons on the sides are to stop the box from opening too far.  They keep it taught but still allow for expansion when it’s full of stunning handmade cards.  The tabs for the months are made using the tab punch and I used the Calendar Alphabet and Numbers stamp set to do all the labels and numbers on the index cards.

Then there is this cute flower made using the 5-petal flower punch.  I’m going to make a tutorial for this one day because everyone should know how to make these as they are so simple and look so pretty.

The top flower is one flower that has been ‘rubbed’ so the fibres break in the cardstock and it separates to form two layers of card in the one piece.  I’ve pulled the top layer up and curled it to tuck under a split pin and curled the under layer slightly.  Then second and third punched flowers have just been curled a little and then all joined together with the central split pin.  This may sound complicated but believe me it’s not.  My 8 year old son was making them with me.  When I get the tutorial done you’ll be able to see how easy it is!

I will definitely be making more of these organisers.  I can see many other applications for it such as a recipe box or address and phone number file.  I can just see them now.  All I have to do is find the time to make them 🙂

UPDATED WITH:  I have found the original owner of this card organiser.  You can access her website here and she even has a tutorial that you can purchase which I’m sure will be more detailed than mine.

8 Responses to “Card Organiser”

  1. WOW!!!!! No really…. WOW!!!! Amy, these are AMAZING!!! What gorgeous gifts. I’m going to have to see if I can figure out how to make these myself now… off to plant my face against the computer screen to figure it out.. hahah.

    Love them!!!

    Hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas.

    xx Sarah

  2. 2 Jocelyn

    Wow this looks so lovely and would really like to try and make one too. Any chance you can post some intsrucitons
    thanks

  3. 3 Adele Francis

    how STUNNING!!!!! So so gorgeous Amy!!!! There’s still time between now and Christmas to make one for my mum, yes???? 🙂 So so beautiful, will definitley be trying to give this a go…xxx

  4. 4 becreativewithamy

    I’m going to make a tutorial for the card organiser tomorrow.

  5. 5 Aliessa

    So beautiful Amy! I will never stop being amazed at your creativity.

  6. 6 becreativewithamy

    Thanks Aliessa. I’m loving your blog lately too. You must have been so busy before Christmas to get all those things made. They all look great.


  1. 1 Update « Stamping with Kris
  2. 2 Back now!!! « Papaya SU Cards

