Teepee Fun

21Aug09

That is the question at the moment.  I want to stamp and sew and can’t choose which one to do first!

At the moment I am working on a birthday present for my nearly 6 year old daughter.   I am making her a teepee.  My sister first had the idea and made this one for her son a couple of years ago.

December 07 to Jan 08 052 Teepee

I haven’t gotten very far yet but I have cut out all the fabric and this is what it looks like so far.  This will be the circle above the door. With her initial on it.  It had to be pink!

DSC08272

As I am all for making do with what I already have at home,  I used the materials I found in my supplies around the house.  I had some calico left over from a previous project but not enough for all 8 sides.  I also had some pink curtains that someone had given to me.  They are brand new but just not something I could hang up for curtains though.  So putting them both together I will have one panel of calico then one of pink alternating around the teepee.  The door will be made from the pink and have calico above with the cute “L” circle above the door.

DSC08232 DSC08271

There will be a contrasting bias around the top and bottom as well as around the edges of the door.  This will be the green floral material that I’ve used for the circle above the door.

DSC08277

I think it is going to be gorgeous!  I hope she loves it.

I am also hoping to have enough time to make some bunting to string up in the inside of the teepee. to give it that extra little something.  A real princess teepee.  Not very traditional but very cute indeed!

5 Responses to “Teepee Fun”

  1. Awesome Amy! Are you following some type of pattern or making it up yourself?

    I love your new blog colours and layout by the way. If I wasn’t such a blogger girl I might take you up on your set up deal. Good deal that! 🙂

  2. 2 becreativewithamy

    Thanks Kelly. I am following a pattern but it is very simple so very easy to make. Let me know if you want the pattern.

  3. 3 Lynda

    Heya Amy. Nice to know that u have dumped small and fiddly for HUGE and fiddly!!! BTW.this still means you have to attend group OK!!!! I am in the process of responding to ur e mail. I LURVE the teepee to bits and I am SURE it’s gunna be a MASSIVE hit.

  4. 4 stampitwithsarah

    I thought you’d been a bit quiet! Teepee looks good but I need to see more cards!!! multi task – c’mon!! 😉 Like I can talk!! 🙂

    • 5 becreativewithamy

      I should be finished with the teepee this afternoon and then it will be back to cards tomorrow. I promise!



