Birthday Stamp-a-Stack

24Jul09

I had my first class at home yesterday.  I think it went quite well apart from the fact that it took 3 1/2 hours!  I didn’t realize how long it would take.  I guess the fact that my tape runners ran out and we had to cut double sided tape off the roll really chewed up the time.  Sorry again to those that came.  I’ll make sure I have more on hand next time.  I’ll go and order about 50 right now!

Here is one of the cards we made.  I got the inspiration for this card from Sarah at Stamp it with Sarah.

Stamp-a-Stack Cupcakes

I changed a few things because I didn’t have all the gorgeous embellishments that Sarah has so I had to make do.  I think it turned out very pretty anyway.

Stamp-a-Stack Cupcakes (close up)

One of the new things I have just discovered is Crystal Effects.  I have used it on the chocolate icing on the cakes to give them a delicious shiny finish.  Sarah used it on her card and I had to copy it.  I don’t know why I didn’t buy this stuff sooner.  I love it.

What I’ve Used

Stamp Sets:  Crazy for Cupcakes and Polka Dot Background

Inks:  Chocolate Chip, Close to Cocoa, Baja Breeze and Pretty in Pink

Cardstock & Paper:  Close to Cocoa, Baja Breeze, Kraft and Whisper White with Baja Breeze Patterns DS Paper

Extras:  Blender Pen, Sponge Dauber, Scallop Edge Punch, Chocolate Chip Grosgrain Ribbon and Crystal Effects

____________Updated to include_____________

One of the girls wanted a wedding card and was going to use this one but I showed her the For the Bride stamp set and thought it was perfect.  This is what it looks like as a wedding card.  A very versatile layout!

Stamp-a-Stack Bride

3 Responses to “Birthday Stamp-a-Stack”

  1. 1 Lynda

    These look good enough to eat Amy…choc/blueberry perhaps…LOL. I love this card…it is so much fun…perhaps cause (for me) the sponging looks like smudged chocolate…LOL!!! I have only used Crystal Effects a little, but love it too. Works great on the icing. Magical card.

    • 2 becreativewithamy

      Thanks Lynda. I felt the same way when I first saw the one Sarah made. I actually saw hers in real life and it was prettier and more ‘edible’ than mine.

  2. 3 stampitwithsarah

    Nice case Amy!! Cards are always better in real life!

    I was surprised with my first SAS at how long it took! I’ve learned from it and insisted everyone bring their own adhesive – however invariably it’s a DST that needs to be cut and peeled which really adds to the time it takes … but at least everyone has their own.



