For the Bride

16Jul09

I absolutely fell in love with this set,For the Bride, the second I saw it.  I also thought ‘how many times am I going to use it, and is it worth buying it?’  Too practical!! So I didn’t end up buying it.  But I was lucky enough recently to achieve a new level as a demonstrator for Stampin’ Up! and they rewarded me with a $200 product bonus.  Yay for me!  Now I was so tempted to be practical again but this time I wasn’t.  Although I did order some boring supplies, I also got this stunning set, and a few others of course.  Even if I only use it once, I don’t mind.  I just looovvee it!

I sat down last night to have a play and I was a bit stumped actually as to how to use it.  I just kept sitting there and looking at it and how beautiful it is.  Then I finally came up with a layout and it all fell into place.  I’ve used Close to Cocoa, Kraft and Baja Breeze cardstock with Close to Cocoa ink and a dash of Baja Breeze ink for the flower.  I have used my trusty Cuttlebug again to emboss the Baja Breeze card with the Birds and Swirls embossing folder. A little white grosgrain ribbon ‘ties’ it all together (pun intended. lol)

DSC07820

I had first stamped the Bride in all Close to Cocoa but she needed a little colour.  I inked the stamp with Close to Cocoa and then I used my blender pen to remove the ink from the flower in her hair.  I then used the blender pen again to add Baja Breeze to the stamp where I had just removed the Close to Cocoa.  I could have used a marker to add the colour back on but I wanted a slightly uneven colour to make it look more real.  The little patches of Close to Cocoa on the flower just make it so much better and add a slight border to the petals.

DSC07826

I liked it so much I did a pink version too using Pink Pirouette instead of Baja Breeze.

DSC07847

I love to finish a card but adding an image or some colour to the inside that compliments the front.  For this card I stamped the bride in the bottom right hand corner.

DSC07823

This really is a very simple card but because of the stunning stamp it just has that wow factor to it.  Well that’s what I think anyway!

5 Responses to “For the Bride”

  1. 1 Lynda

    Simply stunning Amy…and thanks for clarifying the embossing Q fm prev post!! I saw this set to and went practical straight away….but LURVE ur versions. C to C has to be one of my fave colours…and it wks beautifully with the BB and PP….as do all SU colours…right?? LOL!! Great job.

    • 2 becreativewithamy

      Thanks. And I love Close to Cocoa too. It has to be my favourite colour at the moment because like you said it goes with everything!

  2. 3 Bev

    Agreed – it definitely has the wow factor – all your cards do. Saw the workshop you’re doing next week. Would love to come, it’s a shame you’re so far away… hmmm I’ll have to think of a way round that!

    • 4 becreativewithamy

      Thanks Bev. I’m not that far away though. Only 45mins. But that can feel like forever if you have a little one in the back screaming. And kids are welcome. I’ll just lock them outside 😉 lol

  3. 5 sarah

    I like this set too, but it annoys me they forgot the groom in the equation!



