Hip-Hippo-Ray!

21Apr09

Well it was my friend Deena’s birthday today and that meant she needed a card.  I wasn’t sad about that because it meant I got a chance to play with my new stamp set ‘Pun Fun’ and also use the new ‘in colors’.  I actually really like this card.  I got the idea from split coast stampers and changed it to suit the colours and materials that I had.

I love this card!  If you’re having a birthday soon, this will probably be the card you get.

Hip-Hippo-Ray!

I have used Baja Breeze and Riding Hood Red card stock with Riding Hood Red striped grosgrain ribbon.  All of these are from the new in color range.  I have also used Whisper White card stock with Not Quite Navy and Baja Breeze inks to make my own designer paper for the lower half of the card.  I used another new set called ‘Circle Circus’ and inked the large circle first with baja breeze and then rolled the edges with not quite navy.  I love this technique which is called ‘rock and roll’.  Then I have stamped smaller circles using baja breeze and not quite navy and then used a sponge with not quite navy to add a stippled look and finished it with the sponging on the edges.  Gee that sounds complicated but it is so easy and I love the results!

5 Responses to “Hip-Hippo-Ray!”

  1. 1 Katrina

    I always love seeing your latest creations Amy – what’s next on the agenda?

    • 2 becreativewithamy

      I have no idea what is next. At the moment I’m busy with life and can barely get time to use my stamps. But when I do I’ll show the world!

  2. 3 Sam

    That is a beautiful card Amy, the new in colours are actually pretty nice! Do you know where I can get the card designs for the latest catalogue? I looked at the stampin up web site but couldn’t find them. I’m sure someone said that the designs were available online.

    • 4 becreativewithamy

      Thanks for the compliment. I didn’t like the new colours at first but they are definitely growing on me. I’m still undecided on Kiwi Kiss and Brilliant Blue. I’ll have to give myself a challenge to use them.

      I don’t know about getting the designs / templates for the cards in the catalogue but there is a list of supply items that tells you what has been used to make that card, box, scrapbook page etc. Is that what you mean?

      Use the link above or you can get there through the Stampin’ Up! home page just click on “products” at the top of the page then choose “Our Current Catalogues” and then at the bottom left it’s the link called” 2009-2010 Idea Book & Catalogue Stampin’ Supplies Text Only”. If this is what you want then I can also email you a version that contains a small image of each project to make it easier to find what you want. Just let me know.

  3. Very cute Amy! My birthday’s in November…is it too early to sign up for a card? 😉



