I promised and here it is!

17Mar09

I finished the quilt / blanket I started last week.  I can’t believe it was so quick to make and  I really like the way it turned out.   I hope that it comes in handy for little baby Audrey who I gave it to.  She is so tiny and cute I just wanted to keep her.  Well done Sonja and Dallas!

quilt-for-audrey-1

quilt-for-audrey-3

quilt-for-audrey

I love the colours and I’m quite impressed that the fabrics were all from Spotlight.  Usually there isn’t the best range there but I managed to collect some that I thought would be ok but they turned out fantastic when all put together.  I think I did pretty darn well considering this was my first quilt that I’ve made.  I am definitely going to make another.  Who else is having a baby that I can give one to?

8 Responses to “I promised and here it is!”

  1. 1 Courtney

    Wow Amy it looks awesome!!!!! Love the colours….Go you!!!

    • 2 becreativewithamy

      Thank you. I love the colours too. It really matches my house and I think I have to make another the same so that I can keep it for myself. But that just goes against my inner nature of having to give all my creations away. Oh well, I have to treat myself once in a while 😉

  2. 3 Lynda

    Multi-talented hey Amy…….A FAB result for the fruits of ur labour. I know some quilters…and they say it is addictive!!!

    • 4 becreativewithamy

      Thanks. I can definitely vouch for it being addictive! I just love making and creating anything crafty. It’s great.

  3. I am thinking of having a baby just so I can ask for a quilt. I am about to start my first quilt (in the very initial stages of looking for beginners books, etc). Have you got any tips for a beginner?

  4. 6 becreativewithamy

    You can put me in the beginners class too. I don’t know much about quilting at all. The pattern I used was very simple and that made it easy. Apart from sewing around the flowers all you need to do is sew straight lines.

    The most important thing that I have learned from other people is to cut things acurately. This saves a lot of time when you start sewing because you don’t have to fiddle too much when lining up all the pieces. There is nothing worse than having to unpick what you just spent hours sewing.

    I don’t have any special quilting tools like rotary cutters or cutting mats etc. It would have been quicker if I did but it was still easy with a good pair of sewing scissors and a tape measure. If I get more adventurous with it I will buy the tools of the trade but until then I’m happy with the basics.

    Have fun and don’t be too serious about it. If you make a mistake just re-do it or see if you can work the mistake into the design. As in most forms of craftwork “there are never any mistakes, just variations to the pattern”.

    Good luck and let me know if you find any good books. I’d be interested in checking some good ones out too.

  5. 7 Sam

    It’s a gorgeous quilt Amy. You have done a fab job! Are you sure it’s your first????? lol

    • 8 becreativewithamy

      It’s my first completed quilt 😉 Of course I’ve helped with the ones for church but never chosen colours and layout and done the binding and all the rest. So I CAN say this is MY first quilt because the others weren’t my creations. lol



